Connect with us

India Hot Topics

NZ beat India in 1st ever WTC final to win their first ICC event after nearly 21 years



New Zealand won their second ICC tournament by defeating India in the final of the World Test Championship (WTC) and became the overall champions of cricket.

New Zealand won the title by defeating India by eight wickets on the sixth and final day of the World Test Championship (WTC) final match played at The Rose Bowl on Wednesday.

India scored 170 runs in the second innings and took a 138-run lead and set New Zealand a target of 139 runs to win. In response, New Zealand’s team won the match by scoring 140 runs for two wickets and won the title of the first edition of WTC.

In New Zealand’s innings, captain Kane Williamson remained unbeaten on 52 runs off 89 balls with the help of eight fours and Ross Taylor remained unbeaten on 47 runs off 100 balls with the help of six fours.

Apart from these, Devon Conway contributed 19 and Tom Latham contributed nine runs.

Ravichandran Ashwin took two wickets for India.

New Zealand had earlier won the ICC Champions Trophy on 15 October 2000, but they have now created history by winning the first edition of the WTC.

The wonderful coincidence is that even at that time New Zealand had defeated India in the title match.

The match was tough till the end. However, India had to break the pair of Kane Williamson and Ross Taylor, who made a big partnership for the third wicket.

News Source: TheHindu

Copyright © 2021,